I love soup!  Any day, any time.  I seriously ate a bowl of shrimp bisque a friend offered me at 7:45 in the morning once (and it was fabulous!).  However, as the days warm up, I am well aware that people’s hot-food threshold will be reached as we all look for stuff to make for meals that won’t cause us to further crank up the air conditioner, so here’s my farewell to soup for the season post, featuring the BEST soupy meal I’ve had in a really long time!

My friend, Randy, has a passion – no, obsession – for French Onion Soup.  He’ll order it no matter where he is eating, looking for an awesome bowl.  It only makes sense that he perfect his own recipe and, after some badgering, he gave it to  me!  I love his take on the classic:

One rainy day last week was a perfect soup day:

 

…so after The Redhead and I made a dash to the grocery store (after playing in puddles), I followed his instructions and made the BEST French Onion Soup ever, just like Randy promised!!!

 

The recipe calls for four large onions of any type – Randy says that he has used Walla Walla onions, other large Spanish onions or even small organic onions from the Farmer’s Market.  I chose a mix of white and red onions – just the normal, grocery store variety – with a few shallots mixed in because I LOVE shallots. 

I also made some really easy croutons out of sourdough bread by just tearing the loaf into smallish pieces, tossing with melted butter, a little salt and pepper and toasting them in the oven at 350 degrees for about ten minutes – yum!

In my opinion, a good bowl of soup is lonely without an equally delicious sandwich, so I put together some toasted ham sandwiches with some fresh tomatoes, mozzarella and basil – aren’t ingredients this time of year so pretty?

I asked Randy if I could share his toiled-over recipe and he said definitely, so here you go if you want to rebel against the warming weather to recreate the magic in your kitchen!

Incidentally, I just found out that Randy has recently made a dream move to Maui!  I wish him luck and the time of his life! 

 

