Welcome to the first edition of Coffee Shop Sunday!  

Yum! Kitchen and Bakery 

 St. Louis Park 

Ever since driving by it in February, Yum!  Kitchen and Bakery has been beckoning me – its enormous, bright red whimsical sign promising something delightful and outdoor seating (although frost-covered at the time) that made me look forward to warmer weather.  It’s been stuck in my head for months and that’s how it became the first to be featured in Coffee Shop Sunday.  

Honestly, could you resist popping into this place?! 

  

Curb-appeal aside, the bright, airy vibe that the floor-to-ceiling windows and the open seating area give when you walk in is as cheerful and vibrant as the cupcakes in the display.   

   

 I lost myself in the choice of what to try: multi-layered, coconut sprinkled cake?  delicately iced scone?  enormous chocolatey cookie?  I gave up and asked the barista to recommend the one thing I must try at Yum!, and, without hesitation, he pulled out a piece of fudgy, buttercreamed, three-layer goodness: Patti Cake.  

Here’s my spread: Patti Cake, Vanilla Cafe’ Latte, Red Velvet Cake Cupcake, to go (couldn’t go home empty handed!)  

  

 Sometimes, either in a coffee shop or bakery, one thing or the other suffers – either the coffee is really good and the baked goods are mediocre or the bakery items are out of this world and the coffee tastes like it was made last week.  Well, not at Yum!.  I’m not sure what kind of coffee they use, but it was remarkably delicious and tasted thoughtfully prepared – the flavoring was just right, the temperature was spot on and for a coffee devotee like me, it was perfect. 

And then there was the CAKE!  Thank you, barista, who recommended this cake – I have craved it ever since!  

 The chocolate layers were dense and moist – more like a torte than traditional cake – fudgy and rich.  The buttercream icing was such a great, traditional pairing and had a true buttery, creamy taste….yum!!!  This would be a great piece of cake to split – you can see how far I got by myself! 

  Honestly, I visited Yum! Kitchen and Bakery thinking it was just Yum! Bakery, so I went prepared to get some coffee and something sweet…  

  …but I was excited to find that they have a full, open kitchen with breakfast, lunch and dinner entrees, a wine and beer selection and freshly baked bread.  Just another reason to go back!

    

I think that the one word that sums this cafe’ up the best would have to be:

  

– tcfoodie 

 

