I don’t know what it is about chowing down on never-ending varieties of food among hordes of locals on a sunny day, but add in some good live music and you have one awesome, delicious day!  It’s time for one of the events that make summers so much fun here in the Twin Cities: Taste of Minnesota, out at Harriet Island. 

 

I’ve scoped out the list of folks who will be tempting us with festival specialties and I’m already imagining the tasty treats they might be offering.   Of course, I have my standard classics that I have on the agenda – Famous Dave’s basic barbecue somehow is even better outdoors, the Cheese Curd Factory (I can’t pass up cheese curds!), Bridgeman’s for a little cold ice cream treat and a bit of Carrie’s Popcorn to go.  

Photo/Elizabeth Baier

But when I looked down the list of Festival Food, I got excited about some vendors that haven’t tried at Taste of Minnesota before!  I’ve got fingers and toes crossed for mini Juicy Lucy’s from 5-8 Grill, something a little adventurous and earthy from Safari Kenya, maybe some additional meat consumption from Bennett’s Chop and Railhouse and who could pass up anything from Minneapple Pie?!?! 

Oh, I’ve gotten so distracted daydreaming about greasy, saucy, crunchy and sweet things that I have almost failed to mention an action-packed lineup of live music and a pretty thrilling fireworks display if you hang out past dark!   

Whether or not you make it out to the Taste of the Twin Cities, I hope that whatever you do this weekend to celebrate the 4th of July Holiday and the summer is fun and relaxing!  

Photo/Sherri LaRose

  – tcfoodie

